Randomly Remembering My Dad Randomly Dreaming

30 Jul

My dad circa 1942 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

He’s been gone for almost 4 years now. I was thinking about the letter I found that he wrote right before I graduated from college.

An Old Man Dreams

What could have been, what might have been, what is. When life is new there are many years ahead. What are you going to be? Your dreams of a life in baseball, yes, that was a dream. It didn’t happen, but many other things did; some good and some not so good, but still you dream on. I dreamed about a time in the Army. Survival happened. There was a dream of family. I wanted children to be proud of. That happened. Thank God. Two good women that gave those children to me. Thank you. You are always in my dreams. What happens to an old man who never felt old? A dream of many older people: to stay young. You dream of the next generation and you have hope and prayers for them. My youngest Tara is still young enough to be that generation. She will graduate with honors from the University of Houston. She is the dream I have for the new generation. They’ll be just fine. Thank you, Lord. So I dream now of leaving something for my family. Love God. Love family and love life. Live accordingly. My dream is being with all of you in Heaven. God bless. Dad. ~ James Joseph Conely, December 2004.

I’ve been wandering in frustration lately. New York City does that to a person. Thanks again for reminding me where I’m supposed to be, Daddy.

2 Responses to “Randomly Remembering My Dad Randomly Dreaming”

  1. Sharon Conley Lehner November 3, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Tara,how well I remember your father my Uncle Jim. Always smiling,his beautiful eyes. Ah yes, he could have been a professional baseball player. My father,his brother always said that. One thing I found so interesting about the poem he wrote, was that I heard my father’s voice as well. So amazing……Continue to shine…..Never stop speaking about the righteousness people in our world deserve….Love you Sharon

    • tlc2132 November 10, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks so much, Sharon! Love you back.

Leave a Reply

