scribbled paper

17 Feb

I know. I’ve been a way for a while.  A lot has happened since the last time I posted. I founded a non-profit organization, I wrote a published piece, I danced until 3am on my birthday in NYC, and watched a film called Dear Zachery: A Letter to a Son About His Father that had me in tears for several hours straight.

Even while I continue to morph into a grown-up and work eleven jobs (without health insurance), thoughts of my father still linger in the back of my head like residue. I can never quite escape my childhood especially when Daddy is the subject of my thoughts.  One of the hardest things I’ve had to deal with is learning how to stay connected (and sane) while mourning my father’s death. One way I continue to try and stay rooted in this lifetime is by surrendering myself completely to the creative process. So last night, after I watched Zachery, I was inspired. This is what happened after creativity took over at 2am in the morning.

scribbled paper: a short film by tara

scribbled paper is a short (and amateur) film that depicts a daughter searching for some semblance of her father through drawings, sketches, signature markings, and an acrylic painting her father produced while he was alive. Though eerily reminders of a life that has passed on, these images symbolize a touching and unique bond between a daughter and her artist father.

Today marks a year and two months since my father’s passing.

6 Responses to “scribbled paper”

  1. Ian C. February 17, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    This is impressive Tara.

  2. tara l. conley February 17, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    Thank you very much!

  3. Trina C February 17, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    This is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Michael Feyrer February 25, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    Thank you for this amazing work. As an aging (some-would-say-artist)dad to 2 sons who have no mother in their lives, this incredibly personal short film gave me a touching peek at the transcendent connection I might have with them after I’m gone.

    • tara l. conley February 26, 2010 at 4:16 am #

      Thank you so much, Michael. Yes, I entirely believe that you will have a connection with your children after you transition – your artwork an other things will certainly remain meaningful in their lives.

Leave a Reply

