Revamping The Life and Times of Tara (#TLTT)

17 Nov

Having recently been inspired by my cousin’s Facebook page, ImmaTeen, and reading all of the fascinating stories about teenage growing pains and love, I’ve decided to reconfigure The Life and Times of Tara (#TLTT) as solely a storytelling blog. I’ve been thinking about ways to revamp this space since it’s my most visited web page among the others, and since the title of the blog makes sense for storytelling.

I’ll start with short vignettes about one young woman. Not sure where she lives. Not sure what she does. But I’m sure the details will emerge eventually. I am, however, certain she meanders. I think I’ll frame her experiences through a mixture of fiction and non-fiction since she’s probably an ephemeral character anyway.

When I was a kid I wrote a story about a princess riding on a magic carpet in the desert. I also once told a cautionary tale about a teenage girl who’d been seduced by an older male teacher (think: After School Special). When I was 22-years-old, I composed a 150-page novella about a well-renowned psychiatrist from the Northeast who maintained an intimate relationship with woman no one had ever seen before.

From a desert princess to a teenage girl to an invisible woman, I definitely have something to work with.

Not sure how often I’ll be able to write, but I think I’ll start by going through some of those old stories, reshaping the narratives and plots, and then post them here. Feedback and comments are welcome. Ya’ll can help narrate the stories if you’d like. I hope #TLTT will be like your back porch on a humid night in Houston; musty and buggy, but comfy like home.

My imagination was wicked when I was a girl. Here’s hoping I can tell those kind of stories here on this rickety back porch.

It is important to say the names of who we are, the names of the places we have lived, and to write the details of our lives . . . We have lived; our moments are important. This is what it is to be a writer: to be the carrier of details that make up history, to care about the orange booths in the coffee shop in Owatonna . . . Recording the details of our lives is a stance against bombs with their mass ability to kill, against too much speed and efficiency A writer must say yes to life, to all of life: the water glasses, the Kemp’s half-and-half, the ketchup on the counter . . . We must become writers who accepts things as they are, come to love the details, and step forward with the yes on our lips so there can be no more noes in the world, noes that invalidate life and stop these details from continuing” – Natalie Goldberg, Writing Down the Bones.

#staytuned

One Response to “Revamping The Life and Times of Tara (#TLTT)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Potatoes Story 1: Vol. 1 #TLTT « The Life and Times of Tara - December 23, 2012

    [...] The following excerpt is part of the blogging project, The Life and Times of Tara #TLFF [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,745 other followers

