Rest In Peace Michael Jackson: A Tribute

26 Jun

Picture 12_2

Michael Jackson August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009

My father died in December. Six months later the King of Pop passes away.  That’s just too much life and greatness to lose so soon.

Yesterday, the world lost a legend.  We lost another part of our cultural DNA.  Whatever you feel about Michael Jackson personally one thing is for sure; his life represented memories we cherish.  I think one of the reasons why Michael’s death sadly affected those of us who never even met him is because a piece of our childhoods and tightly held memories died with him yesterday.

I believe the concept of ‘losing our childhoods’ has profound meaning at this very moment.  So many of us mourn the loss of our childhoods with Michael Jackson’s passing.  Ironically, we just lost what MJ probably never had, and perhaps that’s why we mourn and feel entirely connected to a man we never even meant.

Michael songs are most certainly the soundtrack to my life.  Written in my music biography, I mention how I was born during a time when Michael Jackson’s Thriller “was a cultural upheaval,” an indication of how his music, at its arguable greatest, marked the beginning of my life and love for music.

No other artist will ever be able to replicate Michael’s style and musical genius.  Despite never meeting him or even seeing him in concert, I’m proud that we shared a lifetime together.  And I’m hopeful that when I see my dad, I’ll also get the chance to meet Michael one day, somewhere, some place magical.

For now, here’s to you Michael.

Join Rest In Peace Michael Jackson on Facebook to be a part of his story.

**UPDATE 10:45 pm EST June 26, 2009

I just checked on iTunes for shits and giggles to see if people were buying Michael Jackson’s music.  The screen grabs below tell the story.  Simply amazing.

June 26, 2009

Top Songs on iTunes - June 26, 2009

Top Albums on iTunes - June 26, 2009

Top Songs on iTunes - June 26, 2009

Top Songs on iTunes - June 26, 2009

Top Music Videos on iTunes - June 26, 2009

Top Music Videos on iTunes - June 26, 2009

One Response to “Rest In Peace Michael Jackson: A Tribute”

  1. Big Fan June 27, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    I regret the loss of the King of Pop Michael Jackson! I hope he gets where he is now, finally in peace.
    Leave also your last greeting at Michael Jackson on our site, thanks.
    a big and now sad fan, from germany

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,745 other followers

